June 29, 2022

Church History

Before 1967 the nearest Presbyterian Church to the Outer Banks was in Elizabeth City. More and more summer vacationers expressed a desire for a Presbyterian Church on the Outer Banks.


Albemarle Presbytery appointed a Task Force for the Outer Banks, and in 1967, decided to try an experiment. They chose John Kaufman, a graduate student of the Union Theological Seminary in Richmond, to meet the residents of the Outer Banks and lead worship services in a beach cottage.

The experiment was such a success that a small cottage, 24 x 32 foot, was erected on the site of the present church building. The Seminary graduate students were housed in the attic. That cottage now stands between the church and the ocean.

The Presbytery placed Spottswood Graves here in September 1978 to see if a church could be established in three years. One year later, on September 23, 1979, having 38 persons on a charter roll, the church became the Outer Banks Presbyterian Church with the Reverend Graves as the called pastor.

Between that time and 1985, OBPC endeavored to create more space using their current facility. However, in November 1986 a contract was signed with an architect to begin the creation of an entirely new facility. Erected right beside the original cottage, the new building was dedicated on January 1, 1989 with a membership of 125 people.  

OPBC grew rapidly throughout the next

decade, wholeheartedly reaching out to one another and the community. On July 27, 2003, the church bid farewell to the Reverend L. Spottswood Graves, the pastor who had served them for twenty-five years. The spiritual guidance of two interim ministers, first the Rev. Dr. Robert E. Fields and then the Rev. Ron McMenamin, led OBPC for the next two years while the church searched for a new pastor.  The Rev. Dr. Andrew P. Martinez answered the Congregation's call and was installed as pastor on March 6, 2005.  Dr. Martinez served until May 31, 2011. 


The Rev. Joseph (Jody) Gilbert Moore was appointed Interim Pastor by the Session and the New Hope Presbytery effective September 14, 2011.  On November 10, 2013, The Rev. Joseph (Jody) Gilbert Moore was installed at 5:00 pm as our Designated Pastor.


Since its early beginnings in 1968, the Outer Banks Presbyterian Church has transitioned to a functioning Presbyterian Church USA in the New Hope Presbytery.  There are now 209 active members and about 60 persons who are “friends of the church” who attend regularly or seasonally and who contribute financially to the church.  In addition to the full-time pastor, the church employs a full-time office manager a Music Director/Organist, a Sanctuary Choir/Youth Director, Nursery Caregiver, and Sexton.


Outer Banks Presbyterian Church’s mission is “calling all to the joy of being Jesus’s disciples in the 21st Century, worshipping, learning, and helping in His name.”  With a focus on “faith, family, and friends,” the church offers meeting space for community groups, such as Lenten Services of the North Dare Ministerial Association, Boy Scouts and Cub Scouts, Alcoholics Anonymous, community choral groups, and stamp collectors.  Worshipers have opportunities to participate in Sunday School for all ages, Sanctuary Choir, Jubilate Ringers, two Presbyterian women’s circles, Sunday evening Bible Study, Faith Knitters, small groups that meet in homes each month, the Out to Lunch Bunch, Third Thursday luncheon group, monthly men’s breakfast, Supper for Six, and Over-eaters Anonymous.


Join us as we strengthen our faith, love and support our family, and reach out to our friends.




~ Past and Present Ministers ~

The Rev. John Kaufman & Seminary Students (1967 – 1978)

The Rev. L. Spottswood Graves, Jr. (1978 – 2003)
The Rev. Dr. Robert Fields, Jr. (2003 – 2004)
The Rev. Ron McMenamin (2004 – 2005)
The Rev. Dr. Andrew P. Martinez (2005 – April 2011)
The Rev. Joseph "Jody" Gilbert Moore (September 2011 - Present)


~ Charter Members~

Linda Albright Iverson
Suzanne Virginia Albright
Vera Berg
Ella Jane Buckingham
Ritchie Buckingham
Helen Bishop
Herbert E. Bishop
Donald R. Covington
Sandra J. Covington
Louise C. Hanson
Roberta H. Graves
Edward J. Genther 
Helen Genther
E. Cureton Harris
 Robert M. Hawekotte
Elizabeth G. Hawekotte
Lester A. Langley
Margaret W. Langley
Catherine D. Meekins
Paul Michael Nesbit
Marie M. Nesbit
James F. Perry
Barbara W. Perry
Gerald C. Pikaart
Margaret Pikaart
Elizabeth Schaub
Elmer W. Schomaker
A.D. Stover
Mary N. Torrey
John C. Wallace
Betty J. Wallace
John W. Walden
Linda Walden
Peter W. Walden
Jean Turner Ward
William R. “Jim” Ward
Victoria L. Ward
Michael L. Ward




Sunday School_image


give button

 Connect with us on
Employment Opportunity









Members Login

Last month June 2022 Next month
week 22 1 2 3 4
week 23 5 6 7 8 9 10 11
week 24 12 13 14 15 16 17 18
week 25 19 20 21 22 23 24 25
week 26 26 27 28 29 30